Outstanding Bandmaster

Each year, the Theta Chapter of Phi Beta Mu honors one individual from within our chapter and state for outstanding contributions.

 1975Basil BomarDaniel
1976Tom O’NealUniversity of South Carolina
1978Dan EllisFurman University
1979James A. SmithSpartanburg High School
1981James A. (Gus) MoodySummerville High School
1982Lorraine ParisNewberry High School
1983James K. CopenhaverUniversity of South Carolina
1984James A. KitchingsAiken High School
1985James B. SennGreenville High School
1986Carl McMathSpartanburg High School
1987Larry Joe CookLander College
1988Billy BoltonChesnee High School
1990W. Patrick WylieCamden High School
1991James PritchardUniversity of South Carolina
1992Robert SimmonsSumter High School
1993Bob ElwangerRock Hill High School
1994Judith McBrideGoose Creek High School
1997Christine J. FisherSouthside Middle School
1998Earl MaysCharleston
1999C. Phillip McIntyreJames F. Byrnes High School
2000Les HickenFurman University
2001Bruce DinkinsIrmo High School
2002Bill YoungWalterboro High School
2004Dr. David O’ShieldsUniversity of South Carolina
2006Martin DickeyFort Mill High School
2007Scott RushWando High School
2008Jay BocookFurman University
2010Joni BrownBates Middle School
2011Larry WellsNorthwestern High School
2012Charlie PolkLexington Middle School
2013Dr. Jerry GatchLexington High School
2014David SantiagoChapin Middle School
2015Vince ClaytonRidge View High School
2016David AllisonSpring Valley High School
2017Edna Y. GraceBrentwood Middle School, College Park Middle School, & Stratford High School
2018Connie A. GranthamFort Mill Middle School
2019Leslie GilreathSummerville High School
2020Jeff ScottCario Middle School
2022Bobby LambertWando High School
2023David SantiagoNewberry College
2024Alicia CrutchlowFlorence Chapel Middle School